Freshman catcher leads Fruitland Grizzlies in all-SRV league picks

Members of the Fruitland softball team, including Taylor Bushong, left, and Phoebe McGrath, direct right, cheer on as Kobi Wheeler runs home after a home run against Homedale on April 26. Bushong was named the SRV’s Rookie of the Year and McGrath was a first team pitcher.

FRUITLAND — With the Idaho season over, several local softball players are bringing home honors, including a young Fruitland player who received a big district nod.

Taylor Bushong, the Grizzlies’ freshman catcher and number two hitter in the lineup, was the SRV’s Rookie of the Year.

Senior Phoebe McGrath, who finished off her third season as the Grizzlies’ ace, was a first team pitcher.

Hailey Hershey, in her first season at first base after previously playing catcher, was a first team first baseman. Ellie Tesnohlidek, who was in left field last spring, was a first team second baseman. Brigitt Futter, the Grizzlies’ power hitter, was first team at third base.

Kiana Husfloen was a first team centerfielder.

Bella Carbajal, in her first year back to softball after missing the 2018 season due to injury, was an honorable mention at shortstop.

The Grizzlies finished the season with a 14-12 record, falling 3-2 to Gooding (who finished second in the state tournament) in the first round of the state tournament in a five-inning game, shortened due to weather.

The Payette softball team finished the season with a 15-9 record, falling to the Grizzlies in the district second-place game.

Alyssa Kauffman, who also finished her third year as the Payette ace pitcher, was a first team pitcher.

Malybu Gantz in centerfield was a first team outfielder. Tybee Haddock, who spent time at first base, third base and designated hitter, was a first team utility player.

Outfielder Addie Gonzalez was an honorable mention.

The Weiser softball team finished the season at 7-20 with a loss to Payette in the SRV consolation game.

Whitney Cordes, a freshman pitcher and shortstop, was a first team selection as a utility player.

Erika Tyree (catcher), Madison Phillips (outfield) and Kali Branstetter (outfield) were second team selections.

Westi Walker and Ivy Morris were honorable mentions.


Recommended for you

Load comments