Find out who lead the all-league baseball picks for Snake River Valley

Weiser’s Kooper von Brethorst fields the ball from shortstop during the Wolverines’ game against Payette on April 3. He was named to the all-Snake River Valley first team this year.

WEISER — After closing their conference schedule with a tough 1-4 patch (including a loss to every opponent in the district) the Weiser baseball team closed the 2019 season with a trip to the state tournament and the Idaho 3A consolation title.

Senior catcher Brody von Brethorst was named to the all-Snake River Valley first team. Kooper von Brethorst, a sophomore, was a first team shortstop.

Freshman Brett Spencer and senior Logan Wood were also first team selections.

Brothers Jayden and Jarrett Mink, along with Tyler Pope, were second team selections.

Willy Shirts was an honorable mention.

The Wolverines closed the 2019 season with a 14-13 record.

In Russ Wright’s last season as the head coach at Fruitland, the Grizzlies finished the season with a 12-11 record after falling to Weiser in the district second-place game.

In his fourth varsity season, Knuck Flannery closed his prep career with a first team selection. Sid McHenry and Kade Kurata (a freshman left-handed pitcher) were also first team picks.

Brennan Fitzsimonds and Nick Nunez were second team selections.

Ben Shurtleff, who was a utility player for the Grizzlies, was an honorable mention.

After losing an enormous senior class last spring, the Payette baseball team closed 2019 with a 8-14 record.

Bryce Marshall, one of the Pirates’ few veteran starters this spring, was a first team selection.

Kodee Bennett, Ewan Anderson and Deano Rodriguez were all second team selections.

Christian Yeakley was an honorable mention.


Nik Streng is the sports reporter for the Argus Observer. He graduated from the University of Oregon in 2015 with a master's degree in journalism, after graduating from Pacific University in 2013 with a degree in creative writing.

Recommended for you

Load comments