New mayor for New Plymouth

These flags were outside the Fruitland City Hall on Tuesday. In addition to being on the ballot for a bond, the city hall was one of several polling places throughout the county where voters could cast ballots .

PAYETTE COUNTY — Voters across Payette County headed to the polls on Nov. 5, collectively electing nine city councilors, with New Plymouth also choosing a new mayor and three school board members. Unofficial results listed here are according to Payette County Clerk Betty Dressen, as of midnight, Nov. 6.

In Fruitland, incumbents Jeff “Dale Jeffries” Carpenter and Stuart Grimes fended off Tim Davis and Michael Moscrip for reelection to the Fruitland City Council. Voters choose Grimes and Carpenter, with 534 and 371 votes, respectively. Davis received 319 votes; Moscrip garnered 233.

Early results also show Fruitland voters barely passing the bond for the city hall remodel.

Four seats were open on the Payette City Council, with three being four years and the other a two-year seat.

Mike Kee sought to defend his appointed seat on the Payette City Council as voters selected three of the five candidates for four-year terms. The three chosen were Daniel Lopez with 476 votes, with Kee and Lori A. Steiniker with 430 each. They beat out Kevin Jensen, who had 342 and Steven Lindsay who had 277 votes.

Khalia Morin ran unopposed for a two-year term, getting approval by 543 voters.

New Plymouth voters selected Ricky York as their new mayor, besting Tom Hoppell 196-123. Also selected to the two city council seats were Bill Warnke and Cora Kurth, who garnered 194 and 174 votes, respectively. Debbie Mills Smith, who was also running for a council seat received 129 votes.

New Plymouth residents also voted in school trustees Marc Haws for Zone 1 (124 votes) over Phil Pittman (98 votes), Dean Jones (31 votes) was leading for Zone 2 by one vote over David Brogan and nine votes over Doug Rupp and H. Lane Austin had Zone 5 (112 votes) with opponents Darrell Brown and Darrell Ocamica holding 73 and 28 votes respectively. 

Updates will be provided as they become available.

Load comments