Counting board

Members of a counting board begin the recount of ballots in the Nyssa City Council election in the Malheur County Clerk’s office during the November 2018 election. Shown, clockwise from left, are Ellie Duncan, Karen Pugh, Mary Kay Allen and Jane Luther.

VALE — The Malheur County Clerk’s Office started mailing out ballots for the upcoming Special District Election on Wednesday. Ballots should be delivered before May 13. Individuals who have not received a ballot by then, can contact the Malheur County Clerk’s Office at (541) 473-5151 or

Ballots must be received by the clerk’s office by May 21 by 8 p.m. The last day to safely turn in a ballot via mail is to make sure it is postmarked by May 14; outside of that, ballots must be turned in via an official drop box.

There are five official drop boxes in Malheur County:

• Malheur County Clerk’s Office, 251 B St. W, Room 101, Vale;

• Malheur County Courthouse, corner of B St. and Bryant St., Vale;

• Ontario Community Library, 388 S.W. Second Ave, Ontario;

• Nyssa City Library, 319 Main St., Nyssa; and

• Yturri Blvd, across of the Post office, Jordan Valley

Military/overseas absentee ballots were mailed out on April 6 and out of state absentee ballots were mailed on April 22.

For the Treasure Valley Community College Board of Directors, incumbents Cheryl Cruson, Stephen Crow and Mark Wettstein have filed for their positions, while Matt Sorensen filed for the position now held by John Forsyth, who did not file to retain his seat.

In the Ontario School District, incumbent Mike Blackaby is being challenged for his seat by Darin Bell. Eric Evans will not face an opponent in his bid to retain his board position.,

There will be two races for positions on the Nyssa School Board. Jeremy Peterson and Kelly Dorathy are vying for the seat now held by Lucy Beck, who did not file. Pat Morinaka, who was appointed to the school board last fall to replace Dennis Savage, who resigned, is facing a challenge by Kyle Woodruff in a bid to retain that seat for the next two years.

In Jordan Valley, incumbent Mike Quintero filed to retain his seat on the school board, but Jessica Smith filed for the seat now held by Randy Carson, and Zack Dufurrena is seeking the seat now held by Kelli Williams.

No one filed for the positions on the Juntura School Board now held by Ethan Bentz, who was appointed and Tony Joyce. Danny Pozzi filed to retain his seat.

Incumbents Michael McGourty and Scott Gressley refiled for their positions on the Vale School Board.

At Arock, Vineto Andre filed to stay on that board, Joseph McEhannon filed for a vacant position and no one filed for the position now held by Michael Eiguren.

Incumbents Quinton Shenk, Eddie Kinkade and Bobby Davis filed to retain their seats on the Adrian School District. Incumbents Garrett Bentz, who was appointed, and Gary Johnson filed to retain their seats on the Harper School Board and Kenneth Parker and Todd Johnson filed to retain their seats on the Annex School Board.

On the newly formed Ontario Recreation District Board, Robert Boyd filed to retain his seat and Toni Davila is being challenged by Ann Fitch-Schiemer.


Recommended for you

Load comments