Ship awards

Students selected for the monthly Ship Awards at McCain Middle School are, back row, from left, Ryker Phillips, Colton Smith, Haiden Mordhorst, Orion Uphoff, Kathryn Thompkins and Shane Beacham; in the front row from left are Kaghen Burns, Dareyan Egner, Kailee Donaho and Makiah Weideman. Not pictured are Logal Leonberg and Alexys Ruiz.

McCain Middle School in Payette has selected students for its monthly Ship Awards. A list follows of those who received an award for the month of September.

Receiving awards for sportsmanship were sixth-grader Makiah Weideman, seventh-grader Dareyan Egner and eighth-grade Logan Leonberg.

Citizenship awards went to sixth-grader Ryker Phillips, seventh-grader Katherine Thompkins and eighth-grader Alexys Ruiz.

In the leadership category, awards went to sixth-grader Kailee Donoho, seventh-grader Kaghen Burns and eighth-grader Colton Smith.

In the scholarship category, Shane Beacham earned an award for sixth grade, Orion Uphoff earned an award for seventh grade, and Haiden Mordhorst received the award among his peers in the eighth grade.

According to McCain Language Arts and Journalism teacher Karen parks, the Ship awards are given based on grade-level teacher nominations.

“This is the third year; it used to be quarterly however,” according to Parks. “This is the first year we are doing it monthly.”

Load comments